FMP Reflection #2

giphy

This week after speaking with Karl I conducted an array of secondary research in order to influence the style I’m working in. By doing so I discovered the work of John Hubley in Rooty Toot Toot. I was previously aware of his work in Moonbird, an animated film using the unscripted audio of his children. I loved the way the film was approached and the idea behind it. The story was already essentially written by the children, but he storyboarded and animated it, making the story come alive visually.

In Rooty Toot Toot, however, I loved the style and visuals created, both in terms of character and environment.

 

Inspired by the stylings, I experimented with this in my sketchbook, exploring the relationship between line and colour. In doing so, I created a character design I really liked, and included in my film. Although the artwork doesn’t look very similar to the work of Hubley, it was through my experimentation inspired by his work that led me to this design.

I then explored how using metallic gold paint could translate into my digital work, after a double page exploration, merging a newer style with my love for gold paired with black ink. By photographing the ink, creating a beautiful shimmering glittery texture, I created a digital design for Alice.

sample texturescharacter design

I loved the way the golden paint worked for this character. As much as I love the style, the animation of this character is gruelling work. Because of the gold being a photo, the sheer amount of layers needed for each frame was tedious. Despite this, I’m glad I pursued it because I’m really fond of the effect it gives and the texture gives the simple style a bit more complexity.

Tutor Sheet 3

After our discussion, looking at my work, I’ve found that the criticism of drinking is subtle. Instead, I portray the interviews in a very comedic light with short visual elements that criticise drinking satirical way. Haven’t noticed this, I aim to continue in the same light as I animate more of the interviews I’ve conducted.

I had begun to consider how I will exhibit my work, either of an old CRT TV, media player or in a show-reel in the cinema room. I discussed this vaguely with Karl (considering I have quite a lot of time before a decision needs to be made and animating is the priority right now) considering my options. I like the idea of setting up the film with objects around that relate to it, perhaps with empty beer bottles and drunken photos. This will need some more consideration but this isn’t a priority at this time.

I feel I am working at a steady pace, gradually creating more content for my film and working closely with my original aims and statement of intent. The use of unscripted audio using my own primary research is working effectively, and having interviewed close friends creating a sense of character has been more simple and effective.

Leave a comment